Research Collaboration

Areas of Research

The Department of Food Science at the University of Guelph serves as the hub for local, national and international collaborations, and is one of the world's premier food science departments.

Dr. Shai Barbut 
sbarbut@uoguelph.ca

Poultry, meat and egg products; meat microbiology, gelation and structure

Dr. Maria Corradini 
mcorradi@uoguelph.ca

Development of novel techniques to study foods, their biophysical behavior, and stability.

Dr. Lisa Duizer 
lduizer@uoguelph.ca

Descriptive sensory analysis techniques; the use of novel sensory techniques to characterize food; sensory perception and aging

Dr. Douglas Goff 
dgoff@uoguelph.ca

Structure and physical and biological functionality of food hydrocolloids. Ice cream science and technology. Processing, physical chemistry and structure of dairy products and frozen foods

Dr. Lawrence Goodridge 
goodridl@uoguelph.ca

Ways to detect and control food-borne and water-borne bacterial pathogens such as E. Coli, Salmonella and Listeria

Dr. Arthur Hill 
arhill@uoguelph.ca

Cheese science and technology, dairy processing, risk analysis

Dr. Iris Joye
ijoye@uoguelph.ca

Cereal science and technology, gluten functionality, encapsulation, protein particles, protein structure and interactions

Dr. Gisèle LaPointe
glapoint@uoguelph.ca

Dairy and food microbiology, food and human microbiota, probiotics and prebiotics, bioactive ingredients

Dr. Loong-Tak Lim
llim@uoguelph.ca

Food packaging, biopolymer films, active/intelligent packaging, electrospinning, encapsulation, coffee

Dr. Alejandro Marangoni
amarango@uoguelph.ca

 Food chemistry and physics, physical properties of fats and oils

Dr. Massimo Marcone
mmarcone@uoguelph.ca

Food chemistry and analysis, functional foods, soy proteins, food exotics

Dr. Donald Mercer
dmercer@uoguelph.ca

Science of food processing with emphasis on food dehydration and drying

Dr. Yoshinori Mine
ymine@uoguelph.ca

Bioactive peptides and amino acids in chronic inflammation, cell signalling, and bioinformatics. Food allergy and  molecular allergology

Dr. Michael Rogers
mroger09@uoguelph.ca   

Food nanotechnology, gel chemistry, food processing and nutrient bioaccessibility, physical chemistry of foods 

Dr. Paul Spagnuolo
pspagnuo@uoguelph.ca     

Nutraceuticals, cell and molecular mechanisms of food-derived bioactives, cancer, metabolism

Dr. Keith Warriner
kwarrine@uoguelph.ca    

Fresh produce safety, meat microbiology, high pressure processing, UV based interventions, water recycling, diagnostics